top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

What is media? Preparing for my 72hr log assessment

Seen as I am currently studying Media at Sheffield Hallam University I feel its important to address 'media' what is it? and how often do we engage with it.

The simple dictionary definition of 'Media' is: 'The main means of mass communication (broadcasting, publishing, and the Internet) regarded collectively'

But what does it really mean? Media surrounds us daily through social medias, tv, news, print media and so many other forms across many media platforms. It's uses majorly for mass communication (phone calls, facetime, news broadcasts and many more) and entertainment (tv, social media, books etc).

We are all consumers of the media, we take it in both willingly and accidently such as adverts on billboards and television ads. There are many types of audiences such as:

-Mass and niche target audiences (big and small)

-One to one (phone calls)

-One to many (A speech/broadcast)

-Many to many (social medias)

-Fan (fully involved audience)

-Follower (mildly involved)

-Passive (involved with the media but doesn't act upon what they see)

-Active (fully involved and acts upon what is show)

-Interactive (voting/enter competitions/gaming/ social media)

Media and Me:

I decided to look into my media uses using these simple questions:

-5 most used apps: iMessage, snapchat, Instagram, email & camera

-5 most visited websites: Shu space, youtube, email, online banking & boohoo

-5 most watched tv channels: ITV, BBC, Channel 4, E4 & 4music

-Most listened to radio station: Capital & BBC radio 1

-Most read magazine/news paper: ELLE

-Most seen advert: Google Pixel phone

-A recent news story: H&M advertising racism issue.

When answering these simple questions it becomes clear the high media usage I really have. However the argument stands as to whether media is a positive or negative aspect of society? My personal belief I that without it, we wouldn't have advance as much in all areas of technology. It is an amazing tool that when used correctly is amazing and beneficial to us al in many different forms.

Over the next few months I will be looking heavily into my own media usage and engagement for one of my assignments on my Media degree. Noting down all the times I engage in media both passively and actively and further analysing this media usage and why we engage with it this way.

bottom of page