top of page

FOLLOW ME:

  • Facebook Clean Grey
  • Twitter Clean Grey
  • Instagram Clean Grey

RECENT POSTS: 

My media usage analysis- Part 3

After gathering my results of my media usage over three consecutive days I am now able to analyse the patterns and relate it to relevant theorist within my work. After recording this data I am able to see how much the media really does consume my day-to-day life in many different ways: from advertisements to entertainment. When planning how I would conduct my log I stated that I would only be recording data I actively engaged in and processed, believing it would be impossible to record everything. After doing the log my statement was in fact correct; that it would have been near impossible to note every media aspect I take in every day. From this I have being able to be critical on my media usage and look at how essential media is in my day-to-day life. Without the use of the internet things such as checking emails and accessing ‘SHU space’ to do university work. Without these things I would not be able to do the course I do. From the log I can tell social media has a huge part to play in connecting with friends and family, especially being away at university it acts as a way of contacting friends and family at home through facetime and message, this is crucial to my life and feeling connected to those around me.

The first theorist I wanted to compare my blog too was Stuart Halls Encoding and Decoding model. (Media audiences- week 3 Understanding Communication) The theory explains that the creator creates a form of media with an intended meaning, sends it out to the audience and then receives the decoded reading. There are three ways the audience can read the message, shown in the diagram bellow.

(Encoding and decoding model)

I feel in today’s current state of the media advertisements fill the screens of our TV’s, Phones, as well as traditional billboards. In my log I came across a few advertisements I really engaged with. A good example from my log that links clearly to Halls theory is ‘The Maze Runner’ advertisement that was on a bus stop side. Being a fan of the films already from the advert I got the dominant reading, knowing it’s the final film in the series and it’s an adventure thriller genre, making me want to go to the cinema to see it. To some they could get a more negotiated reading, possibly that they know it’s a newly released film, however they have only seen some of the other films and would maybe go and see it. The oppositional reading could be that they didn’t like the other films and won’t go and see this new one. Another example where I got the oppositional reading shown in my log, is when watching TV not watching the adverts and tuning out and going on my phone or a different form of distraction. This is not what the creator of the advertisement intends and is a clear form of an opposition reading of televised advertisements.

I found the log very successful in being able to analyse my own media usage, if this was conducted on a range of people of different ages I feel the results would be varied. Someone of a similar age to me would possibly have very similar media usage findings and similar use of platforms. Whereas someone older such as a parent would possibly have a smaller amount of media usage and probably use different formats such as more print media and live television. As for people of a younger age their media usage would possibly be less, but due to the major jumps in media technology today it is arguable that their media usage could be far more regular. By others doing the 72 hour log it would be possible to analyse a variety of results further and compare them to my own.

If I was to do the log again I don’t think I would change much due to feeling it was a success. However, I would maybe choose a different choice of days, where I don’t go home and don’t have access to a live TV, and maybe a more average week days and see if there are any clear differences.

One theorist I feel reflects the outcome of my log is McQuail (1969) the theory known as ‘Uses and Gratifications.’ This looks at audiences as active consumers and looks at the four ways we engage with the media:

(Media audiences- week 6 Uses and functions)

1. Surveillance- knowledge of the world around us

2. Personal identity- helps to develop and express ourselves

3. Personal relationships- building relationships between one another

4. Diversion- acts as a form of escapism

From looking into this theory I can strongly say that these four views on the way we engage with the media is really reflected in my log. From the table I can see social media was heavily engaged with as a part of my daily routine. Sites such as twitter and the news app allow me to have a way of knowing what is going on in the world around me (surveillance), from politics to world crisis’ across the globe. As for personal identity, I think that music on sites such as Spotify allows me to express myself, having a page with all my playlists available for anyone to look at shows my personality through my music choices. The same way I am able to find others with similar music genre interests. Simple platforms such as this are all ways we can create an identity for people to access, before they know us in reality. Relationships is one that really shines through on my log, FaceTime, messenger and social media are all ways for me build and keep relationships with both friends and family from long distances. For example I currently have a friend in India travelling, being able to go on Facebook and connect with her and her journey is an amazing tool of the media, one that 20 years ago would not have been possible. Other platforms shown in my log were a lot of entertainment such as TV and Netflix, these both act as a diversion from life allowing relaxation and enjoyment through streaming. I think that this one applies to people of all ages, using many forms of media such as TV, radio, print media and many more as a diversion and escapism. The four aspects are clearly shown throughout my log in different ways and can be applied to more than one area.

References:

(Media audiences- week 3 Understanding Communication) - Week 3 SHU space lecture/seminar slides.

(Encoding and decoding model) - Diagram by me.

(Media audiences- week 6 Uses and functions)- Uses and gratifications week 6 SHU space lecture/seminar slides.

bottom of page